November 1 is ‘sushi day’

‘Sushi day’ is not well-known to Japanese.  I knew it just today from TV.  But it seems to have a long history.  This day was set in 1961 by the Japanese sushi union in hopes that sushi would become more popular.  As November is the harvest season of rice, they chose today as the sushi day.  I guess then the union must not have expected that it would catch on even overseas in 50 years.  Actually, sushi was not so popular then in Japan as it is now.

Do you know that the popularity of sushi was closely related to the development of technology?  Fresh seafood necessary for sushi is available only after the development of the refrigeration system.  In Japan a fridge began to spread in the late 1950s.

Now sushi is enjoyed all around the world.  On the other hand, thanks to the popularity, tuna and other marine resources continue decreasing.  It is a serious problem to solve.

Anyway, I bought a small box of sushi in a supermarket to celebrate this day.

About Yuki

I am a new face of the professional tour guide
This entry was posted in food, Japanese life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to November 1 is ‘sushi day’

  1. yjrox says:

    Oh November 1 is sushi day? That’s awesome! My birthday is on sushi day!! 🙂

  2. Yuki says:

    Hello! Thanks for your comment. How about celebrating your birthday with sushi next year!

    • yjrox says:

      Yeah I LOVE sushi! I really want to try ootoro but it’s too rare and expensive.

      • yjrox says:

        Just wondering, could you do a post about shopping in Japan? I would really like to know about shops in Akihabara, Harajuku and other parts of Tokyo – especially the hyaku en shop!

  3. Yuki says:

    My favorite fish is salmon:)

  4. Yuki says:

    Of course! I would like to do posts about shopping some day.

Leave a comment